Theft Castle Rock Lawyer | Parker Theft Attorneys
Theft Definition in Castle Rock and Highlands Ranch | How is Theft charged in Colorado?
In Castle Rock and Highlands Ranch, the definition of Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-401, includes obtaining, retaining or exercising control over something of value without permission or by threat or deception. Theft charges also occur when someone receives, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of something of value that has been stolen. With the thing of value, the person would have to intend to deprive another person permanently of its use or benefit, demand consideration for the thing of value as a condition of returning it to the other person, or keep the thing of value more than the agreed-upon time of return in a lease or hire agreement.
Theft in Douglas County: A Misdemeanor or Felony Depending on Value of Item
In Douglas County, how Theft is charged depends on the value of the thing stolen. Petty offense and misdemeanor Theft charges occur when the value of a stolen item ranges from less than $50 to up to $2,000. Felony Theft charges occur when the value of a stolen item ranges from $2,000 to $1,000,000 or more. Below is the full range of petty, misdemeanor and felony Theft charges in Douglas County. Always consult a Theft Castle Rock lawyer from the O'Malley Law Office if facing petty offense, misdemeanor or felony Theft charges.
|Class 1 Petty Offense Theft||If the value of the thing involved is less than $50||Up to 6 months in Douglas County Jail|
|Class 3 Misdemeanor Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $50 or more but less than $300||Up to 6 months in Douglas County Jail|
|Class 2 Misdemeanor Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $300 or more but less than $750||3 to 12 months in the Douglas County Jail|
|Class 1 Misdemeanor Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $750 or more but less than $2,000||6 months to 18 months in the Douglas County Jail|
|Class 6 Felony Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $2,000 or more but less than $5,000||1 year to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections|
|Class 5 Felony Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $5,000 or more but less than $20,000||1 year to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections|
|Class 4 Felony Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000||2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections|
|Class 3 Felony Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $100,000 or more but less than $1,000,000||4 years to 12 years in DOC|
|Class 2 Felony Theft||If the value of the thing involved is $1,000,000 or more||8 years to 24 years in DOC|
Theft Lawyer in Lone Tree: District Attorneys Overcharge Theft
In Lone Tree and Castle Rock, Douglas County District Attorneys often overcharge Theft. They will add the value of multiple items allegedly stolen to increase the level of charges. In some cases, this might mean you will be charged with felony Theft as opposed to misdemeanor Theft because the total value of allegedly stolen items is higher. The thefts will usually need to be considered “one scheme or course of conduct” to be considered related and for DAs to increase the level of Theft charges. For example, if you committed multiple episodes of Theft from the same department store over a period of three months, Castle Rock DAs will add up the total value of each item taken. This may result in a single felony Theft charge rather than multiple misdemeanor Theft charges. Another problem we see is where the government uses the brand new value of items, when the item was taken after several years of use. These and many more risks await defendants in the Douglas County Court and District Court, which is why it's important to have a Theft Castle Rock lawyer from the O'Malley Law Office by your side.
Restitution in Theft Criminal Cases Across Douglas County
Regardless of the plea or finding of guilt following a jury trial, defendants will be required to pay restitution to the alleged victim. This can be very important, if not resolved correctly. Many "victims" love to overestimate the value of items taken. They seek to profit from the theft, by getting new value for old, used items. Your Theft Castle Rock lawyer can challenge these values at a hearing, and reduce your restitution obligation following your criminal case. This is very important, since judges impose jail and prison sentences on men and women who do not fully repay their restitution in Douglas County. Why make your life harder by paying more than what is necessary to compensate the victim for an item's real value?
Douglas County Theft Criminal Lawyer: Call Us at 303-265-1950
A conviction of Theft in Castle Rock can drastically change your life. It could affect your ability to qualify for financial aid, find or keep a job, or even your ability to purchase a weapon. The Theft defense lawyers at the O’Malley Law Office have a passion for defending men and women falsely accused or overcharged with Theft. Getting Theft charges reduced or your Theft case dismissed is our top priority. Call a Theft Castle Rock lawyer at our office today to schedule a free initial consultation with us so we can talk with you more about your Theft charges.