Highlands Ranch DWI Lawyer: Castle Rock DWAI Attorney
What is Driving While Ability Impaired in Castle Rock, Colorado?
“Driving while ability impaired” means:
Police can pull a driver over in Castle Rock if they notice any signs of driving while impaired, like swerving in and out of traffic lanes, veering off to the side of the road, driving too slowly or driving too fast. After a person is pulled over, the person may then be asked to complete roadside tests. It should be noted that these roadside tests are voluntary. If after being pulled over police determine there is probable cause for arrest, a person can be arrested and taken to the police station to take a blood or breath test. This is known as the Express Consent Test (ECT).
What is the Penalty for Driving While Impaired in Parker or Castle Rock, Colorado?
Upon a conviction of Driving While Impaired in Parker or Castle Rock, Colorado, a person can face:
A DWAI / DWI conviction can be crippling in Parker or Castle Rock. Not only can a person experience high fines and possible imprisonment, but they can experience hardship when trying to find a job. Employers are often unsympathetic towards those with a criminal record. Additionally, a person may risk losing their driver’s license, or experience higher insurance rates. In some cases, where a child or other person was in the vehicle at the time a person was driving while impaired, District Attorneys can also charge Reckless Endangerment or Child Abuse, increasing the possible consequences a person can face. Each of the possible consequences of a DWAI conviction is enough reason to consult an aggressive Highlands Ranch DWI lawyer at the O’Malley Law Office. We will fight for the best possible outcome in your DWAI case.
How Many Points is a DWAI in Lone Tree or Douglas County?
DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) in Lone Tree and Douglas County is an 8-point traffic violation. Accumulating 12 points over a 12-month period can lead to the loss of your Colorado driver’s license if you are 21 years of age or older. For minor drivers between 18 years of age and 20 years of age, accumulating 9 points during a 12-month period, or 12 months within a 24-month period, can lead to license suspension. Those who are 16 or 17 years old can have their license suspended or revoked upon accumulating 6 points in 12 months, or 7 points before their 18th birthday. A point suspension hearing will be held before a person’s license is suspended or revoked in Lone Tree or Douglas County, which one of our criminal defense lawyers can attend with you. Having a Highlands Ranch DWI lawyer attend a point suspension hearing with you is extremely helpful, as we can sometimes get the length of your license suspension or revocation adjusted.
What is the Legal Limit for Alcohol in Castle Rock? Blood Alcohol Content in DWI / DWAI Cases
In Castle Rock, Colorado, if a person’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is at least 0.05 but less than 0.08 when driving, they will likely face DWAI charges. Under circumstances where a person’s BAC is 0.08 or higher, District Attorneys will charge DUI (Driving Under the Influence). A person’s BAC is often used by the District Attorney in court as evidence that a person was driving while impaired. Drivers under the age of 21 (if their BAC is between 0.02 and 0.05 at the time of driving while impaired by alcohol) will be subject to community service, an alcohol education / treatment program or an alcohol evaluation or assessment.
Charged with DWAI in Castle Rock, Colorado? Call Us at 303-265-1950
Facing a DWAI charge in Castle Rock, Colorado is a difficult experience. A DWAI charge may mean you will risk finding or keeping a job, facing imprisonment or facing the possible loss of your driver’s license. If you have been arrested for Driving While Ability Impaired in Castle Rock, consult a Highlands Ranch DWI lawyer at the O’Malley Law Office right away to protect your rights. With 40 years of combined courtroom experience, our criminal defense lawyers are experienced with the judicial process when people are arrested for DWAI. We have worked with countless DAs and judges, and have often been successful working out favorable plea agreements or reduced charges in DWAI cases. We make sure you are not being overcharged and carefully examine all evidence in your DWAI / DWI case. Having a skilled Highlands Ranch DWI lawyer in your DWAI case will make a world of difference. Call us today.